The Scandinavian Association for Language and Cognition Official Meeting, June 13, 2013

Call

All members of The Scandinavian Association for Language and Cognition are cordially invited to the Official Meeting of the association.

Date: June 13, 2013

Hour: 17.30 – 18.30

Place: room AT100, University of Eastern Finland, Joensuu.

Agenda

- 1. The meeting is opened by SALC's President
- 2. Appointment of chair for the meeting
- 3. Appointment of keeper of the minutes
- 4. The official register of voters
- 5. Approval of the agenda
- 6. Appointment of two members to check the minutes and to count the votes
- 7. The question of whether the members have been invited with due notice
- 8. The President's annual report
- 9. The Treasurer's annual report
- 10. The question of discharge for the Board of Governors for the period June 15, 2011 June 13, 2013
- 11. Elections: President of SALC for June 13, 2013 June 30, 2015
- 12. Elections: nine members of the Board of Governors for June 13, 2013 June 30, 2015
- 13. Elections: three substitutes for the board members for June 13, 2013 June 30, 2015
- 14. Elections: four members of the Nominating Committee for June 13, 2013 June 30, 2015
- 15. Time and location for SALC's next conference
- 16. Any other business
- 17. The meeting is closed by the chair of the meeting

Due to the restricted time for the meeting, members are invited to hand in any alternative nominations (for which there must be advance approval by the nominee) or any other suggestions by June 10, 2013. These should be sent by e-mail to the association's secretary, Marlene Johansson Falck, at <u>marlene.johansson.falck@engelska.umu.se</u>.

For the Board of Governors of SALC Umeå, May 31, 2013 *Marlene Johansson Falck* Secretary

Points of order for the SALC members' meeting on June 13, 2013 at University of Eastern Finland, Joensuu

1 Attendance will be taken at the entrance of the conference hall to establish the number of paying members present. These are entitled to vote. Members may also vote by proxy. Documents to this effect should be handed in at the entrance before the meeting. Other conference participants may attend but have no vote.

2 The chair will proceed to decisions by voice votes. Before the chair's hammer concludes the decisions, anyone challenging the chair's interpretation of the assembly's voice votes is entitled to call for individual voting, either by a show of hands or by a secret ballot.

3 The nominating committee has produced a list of nominees for the posts to be filled. This list was made public at the SALC website and the conference website on June 5, inviting any alternative nominations to be handed in to the secretary by June 10, 2013.

After the members' meeting, the new board should meet as soon as possible to constitute themselves and distribute between them any posts apart from the President. All the data required for the official registration of the new board should be collected. The secretary and treasurer currently in office will provide the new board with all the necessary information.

Members' Meeting with SALC 2013-06-13 The Nominating Committee's list of nominees for the term 2013-2015

President:	Esa Penttilä, Senior Lecturer, University of Eastern, Joensuu, Finland	
Members of the Governing Board		
Denmark (2):	<i>Kristian Tylén</i> , Postdoc, Center for Semiotics, University of Aarhus, & The Interacting Minds Group, Center for Functionally Integrative Neuroscience, Aarhus University Hospital (reelection)	
	<i>Line Burholt Kristensen</i> , Senior Lecturer. Department of Scandinavian Studies and Linguistics, University of Copenhagen	
Finland (2):	(<i>Esa Penttilä</i> , Senior Lecturer, Academy Research Fellow, University of Eastern Finland (reelection))	
	<i>Tiina Onikki-Rantajääskö</i> , Professor, Department of Finno-Ugrian and Scandinavian Studies, University of Helsinki	
Norway (2):	<i>Jóhanna Barðdal</i> , Professor, Department of Linguistic, Literary and Aesthetic Studies, University of Bergen (reelection)	
	<i>Mila Vulchanova</i> , Professor, Language Acquisition and Language Processing Lab, Director, Department of Modern Languages, NTNU, Trondheim (reelection)	
Sweden (3):	<i>Marlene Johansson Falck</i> , Senior Lecturer, Department of Language Studies, Umeå University (reelection)	
	<i>Carita Paradis</i> , Professor, Centre for Languages and Literature, Lund University (reelection)	
	<i>Jordan Zlatev</i> , Professor, Centre for Languages and Literature Lund University (reelection)	
Substitutes (3):	Carita Lundmark, Senior Lecturer, Kristianstad University College	
	<i>Viktor Smith</i> , Associate Professor, Center for Language, Cognition and Mentality (LaCoMe), Copenhagen Business School	
	<i>Lisa Rudebeck,</i> Ph.D.student, Department of Scandinavian Languages, Stockholm University	
The Nominating Committee:		
Denmark:	<i>Elisabeth Engberg-Pedersen</i> , Professor, Department of Scandinavian Studies and Linguistics, University of Copenhagen	

Finland:	<i>Marja Nenonen</i> , Professor, Department of Linguistics, University of Eastern Finland, Joensuu (chair)
Norway:	Stephanie Hazel Wold, Senior Lecturer, Foreign Language Department, University of Bergen
Sweden:	Anna Vogel, Senior Lecturer, Department of Swedish Language and Multilingualism, Stockholm University